Indiana AHEC Scholars: Community Healthcare Fellowship

East Indiana AHEC is pleased to announce a new opportunity for health professions college students - the AHEC Scholars Community Healthcare Fellowship.  AHEC Scholars participants will come away from the fellowship ready to enter the health professions workforce with a deeper understanding of providing healthcare to underserved populations, working in interprofessional teams, and caring for patients in the context of rural communities.

The AHEC Scholars program is designed specifically for applicants who have a strong interest in providing care to those living in rural and medically underserved communities across Indiana in such roles as physician, nurse, physical therapist, social worker, or other behavioral health and allied health occupations.

AHEC Scholars will include both online learning units and community-based experiences designed to give health professions students a deeper understanding of rural healthcare, caring for underserved populations, and the importance of practice transformation in a clinical care setting. Fellows will focus on five core issues – behavioral health integration, cultural competency, interprofessional education, practice transformation, and social determinants of health.

  • Students will be part of an interprofessional group of participants and have the chance to learn with, from, and about students from other health care disciplines.
  • Students will be assigned to teams based on their geographic location within the EI-AHEC region to make in-person learning activities as accessible as possible.
  • Students will receive at $750 stipend each year of the program to support their participation.
  • Students will take part in 40 hours of online learning and 40 hours of in-person field experiences each year of the program.

East Indiana AHEC’s cohort of Indiana AHEC Scholars Community Healthcare Fellows is open to students in the final two years of an accredited health professions program who are residents of or who attend college in the East Indiana AHEC service region.  (Bartholomew, Dearborn, Decatur, Fayette, Franklin, Henry, Jennings, Jefferson, Ohio, Ripley, Rush, Switzerland, Union, and Wayne Counties)

Apply online - be sure to select the East Indiana (EI) AHEC region as the cohort with which you are interested in participating.

Download an Indiana AHEC Scholars brochure for more information and to check eligibility requirements.

Interested students who have further questions before they apply can email

East Indiana Area Health Education Center
13 E. George Street, Suite B
Batesville, IN 47006